With 64 votes “For”, 14 “Against” and 2 “Abstentions”, Parliament voted in the text of the third draft-amendment for changes to the Constitution envisaged in the Prespa Agreement, which stipulates that the Republic must respect the sovereignty, territorial integrity and political independence of its neighbouring countries.

MPs from VMRO-DPMNE pointed out that Macedonia has no territorial claims in any other country, and therefore, it is unnecessary for it to be stressed in the Constitution.

“The amendment we are debating today, has no significance after the draft-amendment that changes the constitutional name, is adopted,” said VMRO-DPMNE MP Zoran Ilioski.

Deputy Foreign Minister Andrej Zhernovski responded by saying it was an amendment with which the two countries mutually guarantee the inviolability of the borders.