Spokeswoman for the European Commission, Maja Kocijančić, said that until Greece and Macedonia fully implement the agreement reached over the name dispute, the European Union will continue to call the country by its provisional name.

“An agreement has been reached, however, a number of steps remain to be completed. For official purposes we will continue to call the country the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, as we have done so far with all our announcements”, said Kocijančić.