Talat Xhaferi selected as Speaker while demonstrators enter the Parliament building


This afternoon, the parliamentary majority selected DUI MP, Talat Xhaferi as Parliament Speaker.

The chairman of the constitutive session was MP Ferid Muhić, as the second in line, Branko Manojlovski was absent from today’s session. Muhić chose Goran Misovski and Dzevad Ademi as his deputies, and the selection for Xhaferi to become Speaker was chaired by Misovski. However, during this time, from the backbenches in the plenary hall, MPs from VMRO-DPMNE could be heard shouting “this is a coup” and “shameful”, and they sang the Macedonian anthem.

After being elected with 61 votes “for” Xhaferi pledged his solemn oath of office and officially signed his sworn declaration, after which he repeated the ceremony in the Albanian language. MPs from the Besa Movement and DPA did not vote for the choice of Xhaferi.

After selecting Xhaferi, citizens who had been protesting under the civil movement “For a United Macedonia” were just outside the main entrance of Parliament and entered the building through other entrances.

The police have surrounded the Parliament building, and their presence has increased, however, according to unofficial information, special police units with armoured vehicles have been sent to Parliament.

Нашите вести во вашето сандаче

Секој ден во 17 ч. добивајте ги вестите од Новинската агенција Мета директно на вашата електронска адреса.

Ве молиме одберете на кој начин сакате да добивате информации од нас:
Можете да се отпишете од оваа листа преку линкот на крајот од нашите пораки.