More than half of the member-states of NATO ratified the protocol for accession of North Macedonia to the Alliance.

Germany is the newest, 16th country, from a total of 29 members of the Organization of the North Atlantic Treaty, which ratified the protocol-annex of the original Washington Treaty with which, in 1945, the military alliance was created.

The Protocol for accession of North Macedonia on the 6th of February in Brussels, in the headquarters of NATO, was signed by the ambassadors of the member states, instead of the Ministers for internal affairs, in order make the procedure for accession faster, and is expected to be fully completed by the 70th jubilee NATO summit that will be held in London in December.