During yesterday’s session, the Government of North Macedonia adopted the Commission for Infectious Diseases’ recommendation to introduce PCR tests for citizens of Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro, and Bosnia and Hercegovina as a prerequisite for entering the country. The decision will become effective today and will last until a new decision has been adopted by the Government.

The mandatory RT PCR SARS-CoV-2 test should be conducted at most 72 hours prior to the passenger’s entrance the North Macedonia’s territory, and each passenger will also have to submit a statement with personal data and the location and the duration of their stay.

This decision by the Government arrives when the number of newly infected people with COVID-19 in these countries arose significantly in the past period and they pose a danger of importing new COVID-19 cases that would cause furrther spreading of the disease i North Macedonia.