Today at 12:00 pm, President Gjorge Ivanov will award the mandate to form the government of the Republic of Macedonia to Zoran Zaev, announced today the president’s office.

After parliamentary elections were held on December the 11th, last year, VMRO-DPMNE won 51 seats but failed to negotiate a coalition government with the Albanian parties. SDSM won 49 seats in the elections, and succeeded in forming a parliamentary majority with the Albanian parties, but Ivanov until now, refused to hand over the mandate, and demanded guarantees for the preservation of the unitary of Macedonia and he also rejected the Albanian platform.